5 Benefits of Digital Detox and why YOU should do it

In this day and age, electronic devices have become a must in our lives. It is extremely hard for us to let a day pass by without checking our social media accounts, watch silly videos on YouTube or read all about that new juicy gossip.

However, spending too much time with our eyes glued to the screen can have terrible health effects. In order to have a prosperous life, we must try to maintain a balance between the virtual and real world.

A digital detox is exactly what gadget-addicted people (like me) need.

What is a digital detox?

A digital detox is  a period of time during which you are not allowed to use any electronic device, such as smartphone, computer, TV etc.

How to stick to a digital detox

There are a lot of ways in which you can keep your distance from anything that works with the help of electricity.

The first thing you have to do is decide the length of your digital detox. Is it a day? Or maybe a complete week? Regardless of your choice, you will experience the benefits straight away.

It’s easier if you go step by step. If it is the first time you try such a detox, you should get rid of one gadget at a time. By and large, the smartphone is the device which people use religiously. Therefore, it will be harder to stick to your  task if you choose it. For the time being, ignore your computer or the TV.

Once you get used to the feeling of longing, you can make a bold move and make not using the mobile phone your goal.

Dealing with desire is one of the hardest things you’ll go through. The thought of checking your phone will go through your head at least a hundred times. Something which could help you tackle your task is a reward. That’s right! TREAT YO’ SELF! Make a promise to yourself that if you complete the challenge, you will buy that new product which you’ve seen advertised all over the place, or you’ll go at that restaurant and have the biggest burger or the tastiest cocktail. This will surely keep you motivated.

Also, telling your friends and family about it could improve your results. They will help you achieve your goal by reminding you about the detox and why you started doing it, which gets us to the most important part… WHY you should start a digital detox.

The Benefits of a Digital Detox

  1. Less stress. You won’t be pestered about text messages, phone calls, emails which you feel the need to answer. This is your relaxation time during which no one can interrupt you.
  2. You become more productive. Admit it. How many times did you browse through social media instead of doing a project or house chores or ANYTHING more important than that? Don’t let the phone fool you! You know you have better things to do.
  3. You have the chance to reconnect with Nature. And you might wonder why it is so important to do that. We are part of Nature. Nature is a part of us. Never forget that!
  4. Better sleep. It has been proven that the longer we use our phones, the worse our sleep pattern will be. Many people fall asleep while playing on their smartphones or texting their crush. When they wake up, they feel tired and drained of energy. This is all because of too much internet browsing.
  5. Personal growth. Even if there are many apps which could help you improve yourself, nothing compares to reading a physical book, or trying to learn a new language by flicking through a 70 000 word dictionary. Also, maybe you discover a new talent. Sing, dance, draw, play sport. You can do anything you want while not using your dearest device.

Personal Experience

I tried a 5-day digital detox. At first, I thought it would be so much easier than I expected. Day number one was the best. With the goal in my mind, I kept motivated and did not feel the need to check my phone at all.

From that point on, it only got worse. Day number two is when I started feeling the need to grab my phone. Luckily, I managed to overcome the desire.

Day number three was the worst. I almost quit. My mom reminded my how happy I would be once I finish the challenge and I gave her my phone in order to keep my distance as far away from it as possible.

Day four was alright. The desire diminished drastically.

With the goal back in my mind, I finished the detox successfully. I was almost upset that five days have already passed by.

During these five days, I read 3 books and two short stories. I rediscovered my passion for tennis. I learned how to make pickles and raspberry syrup. I did plenty of  German exercises and I bonded with my family.


Every now and then, it is recommended to start a digital detox.

Have you completed one? Or are you thinking about tackling the challenge?

Congrats if you did! Good luck if you’re about to!

2 thoughts on “5 Benefits of Digital Detox and why YOU should do it

Leave a Reply

