Books Lately #3 

Hello, friends! It’s been a while since I’ve shared with you my thoughts about books and I’ve read a lot during these months. However, I’ll present you only 5.

a. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

  • quick and easy to read 
  • Alice goes through a lot of odd, yet amusing adventures which made me smile and, at times, laugh out loud (which doesn’t happen quite often) 
  • the book surpassed my expectations

4/5

b. Amerika by Franz Kafka

  • it wasn’t what I expected it to be, however it did not disappoint me
  • as far as I know, this is one of Kafka’s mediocre works (and for a mediocre work, let me just tell you that it’s wonderful) 
  • interesting plot and characters, but some of them needed more development

4/5

c. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

  • one of my favourite books so far 
  • I had to choose between this one and Eat. Pray. Love and I’m glad that I chose this one
  • it has changed the way I think about creativity and the way in which my creative process develops
  • it has also boosted my confidence a lot and made me realize that creativity is a treasure
  • you should all read this book, even if you think you are not a creative person

5/5

d. The Blue Flower by Penelope Fitzgerald

  • I had to choose between this one and a book written by Osho… I regret choosing The Blue Flower
  • When I read a short description of the book, I thought it was going to be very interesting and that I will love it. I mean, it was supposed to be about philosophy, German culture, poetry and love… aka everything that I love in the same book. It was not at all the case. 
  • Awfully developed plot. One of the worst endings. The ending was also extremely rushed. 
  • The characters lack personality. 

2/5 

e. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

  • I absolutely love this book. One of the most wonderful creations which I’ve read. 
  • I fell in love with Dorian and his mind. His mind is such an odd, yet fascinating place. 
  • The ending was stunning, it transformed the book into a real work of art.

5+/5 

______________

What have you been reading these past few months? I would love to read all about it! 🙂 

8 thoughts on “Books Lately #3 

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Loving In The Summer Of 2k17 | Oceauxnic

Leave a Reply

