Books lately

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18222901/?claim=296y6xwtwwj”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>


During these past few weeks I’ve been reading a lot. This summer, I traded tv shows for books and I’m glad I did that. I managed to read 5 books, not as many as you would have expected, but that is a pretty impressive number for me.

I’m not one of those people who would rather read than do anything else that might be pointless or not worthy of their time. I’m trying to change that, though. I love books, I love reading, but I’m lazy as fuck when it comes to actually sitting down and starting a new book. But when I do that, I can’t stop haha.

So, let’s not waste any more time with chit-chat. Here are the 5 books that I’ve read this summer.

 

  1.  How to win friends and influence people by Dale Carnegie.

20160901_135921az

  • this is a self-help/self growth type of book
  • amazing pieces of advice
  • very helpful for me, cause I’m a shy little bean and hopefully, I’ll be able to use the notes in this book to my advantage
  • about 150 pages
  • 5/5

   2. Legacy by Danielle Steel

20160901_135930ds

  • the first book that I’ve read that was written by Danielle Steel (I must live under a rock, cause I haven’t heard of her before, either)
  • pretty enjoyable, kinda boring at first, but eventually I got into it
  • the action feels a bit rushed, I wish it had more details
  • the end is predictable, but cute
  • around 320 pages
  • 3/5

   3.Whutering Heights by Emily Bronte

20160901_135950vgh

  • again, I must live under a fucking rock cause I haven’t read this sooner, but hey, better than never
  • disappointed with it… I’ve heard many things about this book, but it wasn’t how I expected
  • too many characters at the beginning and it’s confusing, especially their family status (I always mixed them up)
  • I don’t think that the details help the plot, so the action feels rushed just like at the previous book
  • the ending is the only part that I truly enjoyed, it kinda saves the book
  • approx. 300 pages
  • 3/5

4. Peste mări şi ţări (From the sea to the land beyond) by Mihai Tican-Rumano 

20160901_140012hy

FotorCreatedju

  • book of adventures, very interesting, beautiful scenes and images
  • lots of details, they made you feel like you are in the described scene
  • exotic places/cultures/people
  • its aesthetics are wonderful, as you can see from the photos above
  • the only thing that ruined the whole book is that there were chapters in which the author described animals that he killed/slaughtered… it was very hard to read, but I managed to finish the book somehow; although there are not many of those scenes, they are very detailed and terrible
  • about 310 pages
  • 3/5 because of the animal cruelty

      5. Borgia! by Michel Zevaco 

20160901_140000hj

  • one of the best books I’ve read so far
  • it’s about Ragastens, a french knight who goes to Italy to work for Cezar Borgia. The thing is, Ragastens doesn’t know that Borgia is a criminal and pretty much a psycho. Borgia’s love interest, Primevere tells Ragastens about who Borgia truly is and the plot develops from there on
  • such an interesting and well-developed plot, you cannot put the book down once you’ve started reading it
  • plot twist in almost every chapter
  • highly recommend it to everyone who likes romance, history, adventure, some thriller and suspense
  • approx. 320 pages
  • 4/5

Well, this is all lovely people. What have you been reading lately? Do you have any recommendations? I would love to hear them 🙂

Enjoy the last sunny warm days of this year haha. And have a lovely day!

4 thoughts on “Books lately

Leave a Reply

