17 things I’ve learned by age 17

Yesterday, I turned 17. It feels so weird when I type this number… It is going to take me a long time till I get used to it.

This year, I wasn’t excited at all about my birthday; I didn’t even organize a birthday party cause I wasn’t in the mood for one. However, on the day before my birthday, I felt like all of the emotions that I was trying to ignore decided to make an appearance. I kinda had a breakdown, I started crying. I was just not believing that I was about to turn 17. Next year I’ll be 18 which means that I will officially be an adult and after two years, I finish high school. So, I started to feel anxious cause I still don’t know what I want to do with my life or what universities I should apply for… But I was also grateful for the fact that my life finally starts to be the way that I want.

After I calmed down I came to the conclusion that I should reflect on my past years and see what I’ve learned. I know it’s pretty cliché and cheesy and almost everyone does this kind of thing, but I really enjoy reading lists like these. And what a better way to celebrate my birthday on my blog than drawing a list like this up.

Therefore, here are 17 things I’ve learned by age 17.

  1. Change occurs. You cannot stop it. Embrace it, instead.
  2. A phone call draws the line between true friends and acquaintances.
  3. Nature heals every single wound, whether it’s physical or spiritual.
  4. Don’t desire. After you get what you lust for, you lose interest in it. Focus on the things that you need, appreciate and love.
  5. Being open to new things is the key to memorable adventures and experiences.
  6. Loneliness is cool. You’re not lame if you spend most of the time alone or if you do certain things alone.
  7. 2/10 middle school friends turn into high school friends (and maybe into lifetime friends)
  8. Sometimes, people want you to make the first move. They want to see if you really care about them.
  9. Don’t rush things. Everything comes at the right time.
  10. Cheeseburgers are not the only thing you can eat at McDonald’s.
  11. Thrift store clothes are bomb. You shouldn’t be ashamed to buy them. Most of them are good quality, unique and very fucking cheap.
  12. Having a boyfriend is not necessary. Do your thing. Alone.
  13. Body hair is something normal. Be cool with it.
  14. Girls can fucking swear if that’s what they want.
  15. Weird? Nah, mate. Authentic.
  16. You don’t have to be a doctor in order to have a succesful career.
  17. Loving yourself is the first step towards true happiness.

Well, all I can say is that I can’t wait to see what other things I’ll add to the list before I turn 18.

Have a lovely day, dear readers. Lots of love xx 🙂

Author: Georgia

writing is my medicine

8 thoughts on “17 things I’ve learned by age 17”

  1. Congratulations! I wish I had figured out half of those things on your list by the time I was 17! Lovely to meet you online and I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear!! 🙂 Every journey is different, but as long as it is a beautiful one, I don’t think it matters what path we’ve chosen. Have a wonderful day xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, wow! That’s crazy haha! It is indeed frightening… I can’t wait to turn 18, but at the same time I am really scared and anxious about it… But life goes on and we have to enjoy every second of it, no matter how afraid me might be of it. Have a lovely day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

