Self-loathing

I often say “I (fucking) hate myself”, but do I really mean that? If I think about it, the answer is “no”. I do not (fucking) hate myself. What actually disturbs my inner peace is the way others treat me. Unfortunately, it has taken me a long time to figure this out.

To be completely honest, I love myself. I love the way I think, the way I feel, the way I act. I love everything that there is to love about myself. Ugh, I haven’t said that in a while. It might be a bit selfish, but is extremely healthy. Now that I have realized that the ones who surround me don’t always have the best intentions, I don’t look down on me as much as I used to.

I know how hard it is to carry on trying to be happy when everyone asks you why you’re sad or why don’t you smile etc. I also know how hard it is to keep on hearing your loved ones compare you to your friends and maybe even to the ones you don’t normally stand.

“Comparison will kill you”

Well, it really fucking does cause all you can think about is that you’re not enough, you disappoint everyone, you can do better, there is room for improvement, you’ll never be the same as them…

But let me tell you one thing. That’s a lie. These thoughts that you have, the things they say… They are all a lie. It’s not you, it’s them. They are the ones who have a problem, not you. They are the ones that cannot appreciate a lovely human being like you. Yeah, you’re not perfect, but neither are they. We’re humans, we have flaws. These little quirks that we have made us special and unique.

I know it’s pretty cliché, but it’s true.

So please, accept yourself as you are. You are good enough and whoever contradicts with this statement, doesn’t deserve the place in your life and heart. Loving yourself will bring you closer to happiness. Don’t be harsh with who you are. Treat yourself the way you want others to treat you, cause change comes from within.

I hope your journey is going to be a wonderful one.

Peace.

Author: Georgia

writing is my medicine

Leave a Reply

